5 Most Successful MLS Teams of All Time

Most Successful MLS Teams of All Time

Major League Soccer (MLS) is the premier football competition in the USA, and it has seen some of the biggest football stars of all time.

The likes of David Beckham, Steven Gerrard, Kaka, Bale, and the biggest of them all, Messi. 

But which are the most successful MLS teams?

Let’s find out in this article!

5 Most Successful MLS Teams

The most successful MLS teams, based on the number of trophies they have won are as under: 

  1. D.C. United (13 trophies)
  2. LA Galaxy (12 trophies)
  3. Toronto FC (10 trophies)
  4. Seattle Sounders FC (8 trophies)
  5. Columbus Crew (7 trophies)

DC United

DC United have won the most trophies since the league’s introduction. The Washington-based side has won 13 trophies and they are as follows :

Competition No. of TitlesYear
MLS Cup 41996, 1997, 1999, 2004
Supporters’ Shield41997, 1999, 2006, 2007
U.S. Open Cup31996, 2008, 2013
CONCACAF Champions Cup11998
Copa Interamericana11998

Los Angeles Galaxy

Los Angeles Galaxy is the second most successful MLS team based on total trophies, having won 12 titles. Their most recent title win came in 2014 when they won their 5th MLS Cup which is the highest by any team. They have won just one less title than leaders D.C. United. 

CompetitionNo. of TitlesYear
MLS Cup 52002, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2014
Supporters’ Shield41998, 2002, 2010, 2011
U.S. Open Cup22001, 2005
CONCACAF Champions Cup12000

Toronto FC

Toronto FC are third in the rankings of successful MLS sides based on total trophies with 10 trophies in their cabinet. It is worth noting that 8 of these titles have been Canadian Championships.

CompetitionNo. of TitlesYear
MLS Cup 12017
Supporters’ Shield12017
Canadian Championship82009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020

Seattle Sounders FC

Seattle Sounders are the fourth most successful MLS team, winning 8 titles. The competition they’ve won the most is the U.S. Open Cup, winning it on 4 occasions. 

CompetitionNo. of TitlesYear
MLS Cup 22016, 2019 
Supporters’ Shield12014
U.S. Open Cup42009, 2010,2011,2014
CONCACAF Champions Cup12022

Columbus Crew

Columbus Crew is the fifth most successful MLS team. The Ohio-based side has won 7 titles, which include 2 MLS Cups. 

CompetitionNo. of TitlesYear
MLS Cup 22008, 2020 
Supporters’ Shield32004,2008,2009
U.S. Open Cup12002
Campeones Cup12021

(The Campeones Cup is decided by a match played between the winners of the previous MLS Cup and the winners of the Campeón de Campeones from Liga MX. Columbus Crew beat Mexican side Cruz Azul 2-0 to take the title.)

MLS Winners Over The Last Decade

Here’s a list of all the clubs that have won MLS in the last 10 years:

  • 2023 – Columbus Crew FC
  • 2022 – Los Angeles FC
  • 2021 – New York City FC
  • 2020 – Columbus Crew FC
  • 2019 – Seattle Sounders FC
  • 2018 – Atlanta United FC
  • 2017 – Toronto FC
  • 2016 – Seattle Sounders FC
  • 2015 – Portland Timbers
  • 2014 – LA Galaxy
  • 2013 – Sporting Kansas City
  • 2012 – LA Galaxy

How Many Competitions do MLS Teams Participate In? 

In a single MLS campaign, most teams compete for four different trophies, these are – Supporters Shield, MLS Cup, US Open Cup/Canadian Championship, and CONCACAF Champions Cup

Supporters Shield

The Supporters Shield is awarded to the Major League Soccer team with the best record in the regular season. L.A. Galaxy currently holds the record for winning the Supports Shield, having won 4 of them (1998, 2002, 2010, and 2011).


The MLS Cup is awarded to the winner of the MLS Cup final, which is a fixture comprising the Eastern Conference Playoff winner and the Western Conference Playoff winner. The MLS Cup is considered the title of league champion.

U.S. Open Cup/Canadian Championship

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is a knockout tournament, and is the oldest soccer tournament in the country. The cup not only includes MLS sides but teams from the other leagues in the U.S. Soccer pyramid.

These include the United Soccer League’s Championship and League One divisions, the National Independent Soccer Association (NISA), and MLS Next Pro. This Competition can be compared to THE FA Cup in England. 

It’s worth noting that any Canadian sides will compete in the Canadian Championship instead of the U.S. Open Cup. Currently, MLS has three Canadian sides – Toronto FC, Vancouver Whitecaps FC and CF Montréal.

CONCACAF Champions Cup

The CONCACAF Champions Cup is a cup competition where teams from North America, Central America, and the Caribbean compete.

The winner of this competition will qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup. This is Similar to the UEFA Champions League in Europe.

To date, only three MLS sides have won the CONCACAF Champions Cup – LA Galaxy, D.C. United and Seattle Sounders, with Seattle winning the competition as recently as 2022.


Which Team Has Won the Most MLS Cups?

LA Galaxy.

Which Team Has Never Won the MLS Cup?

Among the 29 currently participating teams in MLS, there are 14 that have not secured an MLS Cup victory.

These teams include Austin FC, CF Montreal, Charlotte FC, FC Cincinnati, FC Dallas, Inter Miami, Minnesota United, Nashville SC, New England Revolution, New York Red Bulls, Orlando City, Philadelphia Union, St. Louis City, and Vancouver Whitecaps FC.

Which MLS Team Has Won All 4 Trophies? 

Only three MLS sides have won all four of the main trophies. These are LA Galaxy, D.C. United and Seattle Sounders FC.

How Many Trophies Have Inter Miami Won?

Inter Miami is a fairly new club founded in 2018 so they have not had much success in terms of trophies.

But this year since the Arrival of Lionel Messi, Inter Miami won their first silverware in the form of the Leagues Cup. 


MLS is still at a very early stage compared to other footballing leagues across the globe, especially in Europe. So, there is no clear domination by any particular club.

The most successful MLS team, LA Galaxy, haven’t won a title since 2014, which shows that there will be more new teams emerging in this list as the league grows. 

What do you think?

Written by TackleFromBehind

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cristiano Ronaldo- “Ballon d’Or and Fifa best are losing its credibility”  

Behind the crest: Unraveling the history of Sevilla’s crest